CIUSSS Capitale nationale logo
 

Benoit Labonté,
Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Université Laval

Research chair in partnership with Sentinel North - Molecular Neurobiology of Mood Disorders.


Discoveries about differences in the brains of depressed men and women

Dr. Benoit Labonté's research aims to understand the biological basis of depression and other mood disorders, with a specific focus on sex differences. Although depression is twice as common in women, most preclinical studies have been conducted primarily in males. Dr. Labonté's research has recently shown that genes expressed in the brains of model animals and humans with depression are very different in the two sexes.

Dr. Labonté's research focuses on mouse models of mood disorders, but his results have been confirmed by the analysis of human samples from brain banks and blood tests. These studies have identified genes and proteins that are specifically activated or repressed in depressed males or females. These genes constitute therapeutic targets that could be used to treat this disease in a personalized fashion. 

Finally, studies in the Labonté laboratory also aim to understand the neural circuits involved in the regulation of mood. By combining multiple cellular and molecular approaches, his team can understand the contribution that certain neuronal populations make to the expression of depressive behaviors.

It is therefore in the context of developing better, more targeted therapeutic approaches to treat men and women that Dr. Labonté's team aims to improve our understanding of the molecular mechanisms underlying mood disorders.


In my lab, we are interested in identifying the molecular programs associated with the expression of mood disorders with a particular interest in defining sex differences. We aim at characterizing the role these molecular programs have on behavioral regulation by using well-validated mouse models of stress, known to reproduce both the phenotypic and molecular alterations found in males and females suffering from mood disorders. We use various approaches to identify and isolate neuronal populations functionally associated with stress response in both sexes. We also modify these molecular programs into a cell-specific fashion and aim at reversing the behavioral consequences of chronic stress in males and females. Overall, the overarching objectives of my laboratory are to provide a better understanding of the sexual dimorphism characterizing the molecular mechanisms responsible for the expression of mood disorders and to develop better and more targeted therapeutic approaches for their treatment in males and females.

To do so, we put forward a multidisciplinary and translational approach capitalizing on the comparative analysis of human and animal samples (post-mortem brain, blood samples). The stress models we use in male and female mice are chronic variable stress, chronic social defeat, and social isolation, all of which are evaluated through a battery of behavioral tests. Using different viral approaches in transgenic mouse lines, we map neuronal networks taking place across brain regions. We capitalize on these viral approaches to stimulate specific neuronal populations (optogenetics, dreadds) and isolate them (FACS, ribotag) before extracting their genetic material (RNA, DNA, ChIP) for further molecular analyses. We use genome-wide sequencing methods (RNAseq, ChIPseq) combined with cutting-edge bioinformatics analyses to characterize the transcriptional and epigenetic organization of gene networks in different cellular populations in both sexes that we then compare across species. We also use various viral approaches (viral-mediated gene transfer) to modify the expression of specific genes within precise cellular populations and determine their behavioral contribution in regulating stress responses in both males and females.

Our research interests are oriented toward the 3 following objectives:

  1. Determine the PFC connectome and evaluate the functional and behavioral contribution of the different neuronal populations projecting to the PFC in males and females following chronic stress.
  2. Determine the transcriptional organization of gene networks across the different neuronal populations projecting directly onto PFC neurons and evaluate the behavioral contribution of key hub genes in a sex- and cell-type- specific fashion.
  3. Determine the epigenetic signatures associated with the transcriptional reorganization of gene networks specific to the different neuronal populations projecting onto PFC neurons in males and females following chronic stress.

Research Chair Pfizer and Centre de Recherche de l’Institut Universitaire en Santé Mentale de Québec (2016-2021)


Keywords: 

Molecular mechanisms underlying stress responses in males and females


Benoit Labonté

 
 

2601 Chemin de la Canardière Québec (Québec) G1J 2G3 Canada


Recent news

Recent Publications

Funding / Support / Partners

logo FRQ-S logo ctrn logo fci logo cihr irsc logo nserc logo MESISentinelle nord

CIUSSS Capitale nationale logo
 

Benoit Labonté,
Ph.D.

Professeur adjoint, Département de psychiatrie et de neurosciences, Faculté de Médecine, Université Laval

Chaire de recherche Pfizer - Institut universitaire en santé mentale de Québec


Découvertes sur les différences dans le cerveau des hommes et des femmes souffrant de dépression

La recherche du Dr Benoit Labonté vise à comprendre les bases biologiques de la dépression et autres troubles de l’humeur avec un intérêt particulier porté aux différences entre les sexes. Bien que la dépression soit deux fois plus fréquente chez les femmes, la majorité de études précliniques ont été conduites principalement chez les mâles.  Les recherches du Dr Labonté ont démontré récemment que les gènes exprimés dans le cerveau d’animaux modèles et d’humains souffrant de dépression étaient très différents chez les deux sexes.

Les recherches du Dr Labonté portent sur des souris modèles de troubles de l’humeur, mais sont également confirmés par l’analyse de d’échantillons humains, provenant de banque de cerveaux et de prises de sang. Ces études ont permis d’identifier des gènes et protéines qui sont spécifiquement activés ou réprimés chez les mâles ou les femelles déprimés.  Ces gènes constituent autant de cibles thérapeutiques possible pour traiter cette maladie de façon spécifique. 

Enfin, les études du laboratoire Labonté visent également à comprendre les circuits neuronaux impliqués dans la régulation de l’humeur.  En combinant différentes approches cellulaires et moléculaires, son équipe peut comprendre la contribution qu’ont certaines populations neuronales dans l’expression de comportements dépressifs.

C’est donc dans l’optique de développer de meilleures approches thérapeutiques mieux ciblées pour traiter les hommes et les femmes que l’équipe du Dr Labonté vise à améliorer notre compréhension des mécanismes moléculaires sous-tendant les troubles de l’humeur.

 

Dans mon laboratoire, nous identifions les programmes moléculaires dysfonctionnels chez les individus souffrant de troubles de l’humeur en portant un intérêt particulier aux différences hommes/femmes. Une fois identifiés, nous caractérisons le rôle qu’ont ces programmes moléculaires sur la régulation comportementale en utilisant des modèles de stress chez la souris qui reproduisent autant certains aspects comportementaux que plusieurs altérations moléculaires retrouvées chez l’homme et la femme souffrant de troubles de l’humeur. Nous utilisons différentes approches  pour identifier et isoler les populations neuronales fonctionnellement impliquées dans la réponse au stress chez le mâle et la femelle. Nous modifions les programmes moléculaires propres à ces populations neuronales et tentons de renverser les conséquences comportementales de différents stress chez le mâle et la femelle. Le tout ayant pour objectif ultime de mieux comprendre le dimorphisme sexuel caractérisant les mécanismes moléculaires responsables de l’expression des troubles de l’humeur et de développer certaines approches thérapeutiques plus ciblées à l’homme ou la femme.

Pour répondre à ces questions, nous mettons de l’avant une approche tranlastionelle multidisciplinaire qui capitalise sur l’analyse la comparaison de tissus humains et animaux (cerveau post-mortem, échantillons sanguins). Les modèles de stress que nous utilisons chez la souris mâle et femelle sont le stress variable chronique, la défaite sociale et l’isolation sociale que nous évaluons grâce à divers tests comportementaux. Nous cartographions les réseaux neuronaux existant entre différentes régions du cerveau grâce à des techniques de traçage par vecteurs viraux que nous utilisons ensuite pour stimuler ces populations (optogénétique, dreadds) et les isoler (FACS, ribotag) afin d'obtenir leur matériel génétique (RNA, DNA, ChIP). Nous utilisons des approches de séquençage genome-wide (RNAseq et ChIPseq) combinées à des analyses bioinformatiques de pointes pour établir les signatures transcriptionelles et épigénétiques propres à certaines populations neuronales chez l’homme et la femme et ainsi les comparer dans nos divers modèles animaux.  Nous utilisons également diverses approches virales pour modifier l’expression de certains gènes d’intérêts et déterminer leur contribution comportementale chez le mâle et la femelle suivant différents types de stress.

Actuellement, nos intérêts se concentrent sur:

  1. Déterminer le connectome du PFC et évaluer la contribution fonctionnelle et comportementale des différentes populations neuronales projetant vers le PFC chez le mâle et la femelle suivant différents types de stress.
  2. Déterminer l’organisation réseau du profil transcriptionel des différentes populations neuronales projetant vers le PFC et évaluer la contribution comportementale de gènes régulateurs spécifiques à certaines populations neuronales chez le mâle et la femelle suivant différents types de stress.
  3. Déterminer les signatures épigénétiques sous-jacentes aux modifications de l’organisation des réseaux transcriptionels spécifiques aux différentes populations neuronales projetant vers le PFC suivant différents types de stress chez le mâle et la femelle.

Chaire de recherche Pfizer et Centre de Recherche de l’Institut Universitaire en Santé Mentale de Québec (2016-2021)


Mots-clés: 

Mécanismes moléculaires de la réponse au stress chez l’homme et la femme


Benoit Labonté

 
 

2601 Chemin de la Canardière Québec (Québec) G1J 2G3 Canada


Nouvelles

Publications

Financement / Soutien / Partenaires

logo FRQ-S logo ctrn logo fci logo cihr irsc logo nserc logo MESI

Admin