CIUSSS Capitale nationale logo

Shirley Fecteau,
Ph.D.

Associate professor, Université Laval Canada Research Chair in Cognitive Neuroplasticity


Development of new therapies to treat cognitive disorders that affect attention, decision-making and emotions

Dr. Shirley Fecteau holds the Canada Research Chair in Neuroplasticity and is studying the effects of transcranial magnetic and electrical stimulation approaches to treat conditions such as alcoholism, smoking, schizophrenia, post-traumatic stress disorder and anxiety. Although this type of therapy, which involves passing a low intensity electric current between electrodes placed on the scalp, is effective in treating many of these conditions, the mechanisms underlying its action are not well known.

Dr. Fecteau's studies have shown that the passage of a weak electric current in the brain affects the level of several molecules, including activating neurotransmitters, during treatment. This discovery could explain how transcranial stimulation affects the behavior, symptoms, and neuronal activity of people who are treated repeatedly.

Transcranial stimulation is a particularly interesting approach to treating people in whom conventional treatments, such as mood-regulating drugs, do not work. Pre Fecteau is particularly focused on developing treatments for people with refractory alcohol, tobacco or other drug use disorders.


Researcher in cognitive neuroscience, interested in cognitive processes (eg., attention, decision making, emotion) and in associated cerebral substrates. The main tools used are magnetic and electrical transcranial stimulation, magnetic resonance imaging (anatomical, functional, spectroscopy), electroencephalography and cognitive training.


Équipe de Shirley Fecteau

Post-doctoral students:
- Marine Mondinot
- Christophe Lenglos
- Frédéric Haesebaert

PhD students:
- Antoine Hone-Blanchet
- Jean Levasseur-Moreau
- Maya Dickler
- William Valet
- Elsa Massicotte
- Marilyne Joyal
- Thierry Provencher

Master students:
- François Thiffault
- Julie Goulet
- Kevin Binette

Research assistants:
- Emmanuelle Renauld
- Pierre-Emmanuel Michon


Nos recherches sont disponibles en ligne sur Pubmed


Keywords: 
Cognitive processes
Transcranial stimulation
Magnetric resonance imaging
Electroencephalography
Cognitive training

Shirley Fecteau

 
 

2601 Chemin de la Canardière
Québec (Québec)
G1J 2G3
Canada


Office: 
F-2448

 

Recent news

Recent Publications

Funding / Support / Partners

logo FRQ-S logo ctrn logo fci logo cihr irsc logo nserc logo MESISentinelle nord

CIUSSS Capitale nationale logo

Shirley Fecteau,
Ph.D.

Professeure associée, Département de réadaptation, Faculté de médecine, Université Laval

Chaire de recherche du Canada en neuroplasticité cognitive, niveau 2


Développement de nouvelles thérapies pour traiter les troubles cognitifs qui affectent l’attention, la prise de décision et les émotions

Titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada en neuroplasticité, la Pre Shirley Fecteau étudie les effets d’approches de stimulation magnétique et électrique transcrânienne pour traiter des conditions comme l’alcoolisme, le tabagisme, la schizophrénie, le syndrome du stress post-traumatique et l’anxiété.  Bien que ce type de thérapie, qui implique de faire passer un courant électrique de faible intensité entre des électrodes placées sur le cuir chevelu, soit efficace pour traiter plusieurs de ces conditions, les mécanismes qui sous-tendent son action ne sont pas bien connus.

Les études de la Pre Fecteau ont montré que le passage d’un faible courant électrique dans le cerveau affecte le niveau de plusieurs molécules, dont des neurotransmetteurs activateurs, pendant le traitement.  Cette découverte pourrait expliquer comment la stimulation transcrânienne affecte le comportement, les symptômes et l’activité des neurones des personnes traitées de façon répétitive.

La stimulation transcrânienne est une approche particulièrement intéressante pour traiter des personnes chez qui les traitements conventionnels, comme les médicaments régulateurs de l’humeur, ne fonctionnent pas.  La Pre Fecteau vise particulièrement à développer des traitements pour des personnes aux prises avec des troubles réfractaires de consommation d’alcool, de tabac ou d’autres drogues.


Chercheuse en neuroscience cognitive intéressée aux processus cognitifs (par exemple, attention, prise de décision, émotion) et aux substrats cérébraux associés. Les principaux outils utilisés sont la stimulation magnétique et électrique transcrânienne, l’imagerie par résonance magnétique (anatomique, fonctionnelle, spectroscopie), l’électroencéphalographie et l’entrainement cognitif.


Équipe de Shirley Fecteau

Étudiants au post-doctorat:
- Marine Mondinot
- Christophe Lenglos
- Frédéric Haesebaert

Étudiants au doctorat:
- Antoine Hone-Blanchet
- Jean Levasseur-Moreau
- Maya Dickler
- Elsa Massicotte
- Marilyne Joyal
- Thierry Provencher

Étudiants à la maîtrise:
- François Thiffault
- Julie Goulet
- Kevin Binette

Assistants de recherche:
- Emmanuelle Renauld
- Pierre-Emmanuel Michon


Nos recherches sont disponibles en ligne sur Pubmed


Mots-clés: 

Processus cognitifs
Stimulation transcrânienne
Imagerie par résonance magnétique
Électroencéphalographie
Entraînement cognitif


Shirley Fecteau

 
 

2601 Chemin de la Canardière
Québec (Québec)
G1J 2G3
Canada


Bureau: 
F-2448

 

Nouvelles

Publications récentes

The involvement of the striatum in decision making., Goulet-Kennedy, Julie, Labbe Sara, and Fecteau Shirley , Dialogues Clin Neurosci, 2016 Mar, Volume 18, Issue 1, p.55-63, (2016)

Financement / Soutien / Partenaires

logo FRQ-S logo ctrn logo fci logo cihr irsc logo nserc logo MESISentinelle nord

Admin