Vincent Breton-Provencher

 

Vincent Breton-Provencher,
Ph.D.

Adjunct Professor, Psychiatry and Neuroscience, Université Laval (Starting June 2021)


How do we acquire new skills? How do we optimize previously acquired behaviors?

Our systems neuroscience lab studies the neuronal correlates of learning and attention. We are particularly interested in understanding the roles of catecholamines – noradrenaline and dopamine – in learned behaviors. Our main objectives are to determine when catecholaminergic neurons are active during learning and task execution, what are the brain inputs that cause this activity, and how in turn the release of dopamine and noradrenaline controls the activity of target regions. Our ultimate goal is to use this mechanistic basis of the function of catecholamines in behaviors to understand the role of catecholamine dysfunction in neuropsychiatric disorders. We combine optogenetics, two-photon imaging, electrophysiology, and computational approaches to define encoding of task variables by neurons.

Please get in touch if you are interested in joining the lab.


Breton-Provencher, V., Drummond, G.T., & Sur, M. Locus Coeruleus Norepinephrine in Learned Behavior: Anatomical Modularity and Spatiotemporal Integration in Targets. Front. Neural Circuits, 2021 June 7; 15:638007

Breton-Provencher, V., Sur, M. Active control of arousal by a locus coeruleus GABAergic circuit. Nat. Neuroscience 2019 Feb;22(2):218-228

 


I have previously done my postdoctoral training in the lab of Dr. Mriganka Sur at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, where I studied the circuits regulating noradrenergic activity and their involvement in controlling arousal, behavioral execution, and active reinforcement learning. Before joining the Sur Lab, I have studied adult neurogenesis in the lab of Dr. Armen Saghatelyan at Université Laval. My undergraduate studies were in Engineering Physics, with a focus on optics and photonics.


Keywords: 

Learning, attention, neuromodulators, cortical processing, electrophysiology, optogenetics, 2-photon functional imaging, behaviors, anatomy



 
 
 

2601 Chemin de la Canardière

Québec (Québec)

G1J 2G3 Canada


 
 
 

Recent Publications

Funding / Support / Partners

logo FRQ-S logo ctrn logo fci logo cihr irsc logo nserc logo MESISentinelle nord

Vincent Breton-Provencher

 

Vincent Breton-Provencher,
Ph.D.

Professeur associé, Psychiatrie et Neuroscience, Université Laval (À partir de juin 2021)


Comment acquérons-nous de nouvelles compétences? Comment optimisons-nous les tâches précédemment acquises?

Notre laboratoire de neurosciences des systèmes étudie les processus neuronaux menant à l’apprentissage et l’attention. Nous sommes intéressés plus particulièrement au rôle des catécholamines – la noradrénaline et la dopamine – dans le comportement nécessitant l’apprentissage. Nos objectifs principaux sont de déterminer quand les neurones dopaminergiques ou noradrénergiques sont actifs, quelles régions du cerveau causent cette activité et comment le relâchement de dopamine ou noradrénaline affecte l’activité neuronale dans les régions cibles. Ultimement, nous désirons utiliser ces connaissances de bases sur la fonction des catécholamines dans le comportement pour mieux comprendre le rôle des catécholamines dans les désordres neuropsychiatriques. Nous combinons l’optogénétiques, la microscopie à deux photons, l’électrophysiologie et les approches computationnelles pour définir l’encodage neuronal durant le comportement.

Si vous êtes intéressés à joindre le laboratoire, envoyez-nous un email.


Breton-Provencher, V., Drummond, G.T., & Sur, M. Locus Coeruleus Norepinephrine in Learned Behavior: Anatomical Modularity and Spatiotemporal Integration in Targets. Front. Neural Circuits, 2021 June 7; 15:638007

Breton-Provencher, V., Sur, M. Active control of arousal by a locus coeruleus GABAergic circuit. Nat. Neuroscience 2019 Feb;22(2):218-228

 


J’ai précédemment fait mes études postdoctorales dans le laboratoire du Dr. Mriganka Sur au Massachusetts Institute of Technology, dans lequel j’ai étudié les circuits contrôlant la noradrénaline et leur implication dans l’éveil, l’exécution de tâches ainsi que dans l’apprentissage par renforcement. Avant de joindre le laboratoire de Dr. Sur, j’ai étudié la neurogénèse adulte dans le laboratoire du Dr. Armen Saghatelyan à l’Université Laval. J’ai obtenu mon baccalauréat en Génie Physique, avec concentration en optique et photonique.


Mots-clés: 

apprentissage, attention, neuromodulation, cortex, électrophysiologie, optogénétique, imagerie 2-photon, comportements, anatomie



 
 
 

2601 Chemin de la Canardière

Québec (Québec)

G1J 2G3 Canada


 
 
 

Publications récentes

Financement / Soutien / Partenaires

logo FRQ-S logo ctrn logo fci logo cihr irsc logo nserc logo MESISentinelle nord